Contact us today!
(518) 203-2110

Evolve IT

Evolve IT has been serving the Saratoga Springs area since 1995, providing IT Support such as technical helpdesk support, computer support, and consulting to small and medium-sized businesses.

Tip of the Week: How to Prevent a Certain Facebook Friend From Seeing Your Post

Tip of the Week: How to Prevent a Certain Facebook Friend From Seeing Your Post

What makes Facebook so valuable is that it connects you to a wide variety of people. However, for many users, having such a diverse audience means holding back on sharing their personal opinions, which kind of takes the fun out of social networking. Did you know that Facebook allows you to exclude certain people from seeing your posts? For this week’s tip, we’ll show you how to take advantage of this feature.

To get started, update your status like you normally would. After you’ve typed your message, click on the privacy control button, located on the bottom right side of your status window. This will cause a drop down menu to appear.

Unless you’ve previously changed your privacy setting, it should be set to Friends. You’ll want to change this by scrolling down and clicking on Custom. This will cause a new popup window to open for Custom Privacy.

Next, go to the Don't share with section and select the form. Now type into the form the name of the person you desire to exclude from seeing your post. You can also type the name(s) of additional people that you’d like to exclude as well. Plus, if you happen to have your friends already organized into lists, like family, coworkers, etc., then you can enter an entire list into the “Don’t share with” form.

Once you’ve finished entering all the people that you wish to exclude, select Save Changes. You will now be taken back to the Update Status window. Give your post a final read through and then share it (without having to worry about a certain someone taking it the wrong way) by selecting Post.

In case you’re wondering, the only way that a person you excluded from seeing your post could see it is if you tagged them in the post, or went back and changed the privacy settings. You’ll also want to be mindful of mutual friends. They may relay what you said to everyone in real life. Also remember, screenshots can come back to bite you.

Depending on how sensitive you may be to posting to Facebook, this helpful trick may change the way you use the social network. From a business perspective, consider using this custom privacy setting to express concerns over a product or service without offending any of your Facebook friends associated with it.

Of course, not everyone cares if every Facebook friend reads their post or not. After all, that’s what the unfriend button is for. What about you? Is this a helpful tip, or are you one to post whatever you feel without much regard to who sees it? Share your opinion in the comments below.

Comments

 
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Guest
Thursday, 27 August 2026
If you'd like to register, please fill in the username, password and name fields.

Captcha Image

Blog Archive

Free Consultation

Sign up today for a
FREE Network Consultation

How secure is your IT infrastructure?
Let us evaluate it for free!

Sign up!

Free Consultation
 

Tag Cloud

Tip of the Week Security Technology Internet Best Practices Cloud Hackers Privacy Email Productivity Business Malware Software Business Computing User Tips Upgrade Efficiency Workplace Tips Google Computer Hosted Solutions Microsoft Windows 10 IT Support Mobile Devices Innovation Smartphone Hardware Network Security Ransomware Gmail Microsoft Office Operating System Office Backup Apps The Internet of Things Business Continuity Social Media Disaster Recovery Communication Bandwidth Hacking WiFi Facebook Safety Unified Threat Management Managed Service Provider Outlook Quick Tips Wireless Technology Android Firewall Apple Content Filtering Cybercrime Best Practice Website Alert Networking Data storage Employer-Employee Relationship Data Windows Experience History Two-factor Authentication Small Business Phishing Smartphones App Mobile Device Management Money Mobile Computing Network Big Data communications Social Networking Society Sports Managed IT services Public Speaking Google Wallet Spam Running Cable IP Address Virtualization Information Technology Bluetooth Windows 8 Internet of Things Government Hosted Solution Windows XP IT Services Artificial Intelligence Documents Augmented Reality Keyboard Automation Memory Tech Support Compliance Search User Hard Drives Drones Social Remote Computing Shortcut Deep Learning BDR Printer Browser DDoS Wireless Heating/Cooling Word Virtual Desktop Unified Communications Securty Vendor Management Document Management Encryption VoIP Business Management Law Enforcement SaaS Monitors Competition Proactive IT Cortana Presentation Entrepreneur Network Congestion Save Money Domains Displays Music Hacker Cryptocurrency Laptop End of Support Application IBM Customer Service Google Docs Education Cleaning Holiday Writing Black Market YouTube Processors Staffing Router Office Tips LiFi BYOD Downtime Office 365 Passwords Streaming Media Help Desk Disaster Analytics Micrsooft Saving Money Visible Light Communication intranet Lithium-ion battery Retail Business Growth Data Management Recovery Robot Advertising
QR-Code